Skip to main content
Posted 02.01.19

What’s on at the Cinema: January & February 2019

By Kat Peberdy

Wildlife, starring Carey Mulligan and Jake Gyllenhaal, showing in January.

Plymouth Arts Centre Cinema's January – February programme features a diverse selection of films, from the highly anticipated Suspiria by Luca Guadagnino to the acclaimed foreign language award-winner Shoplifters. Open to the public in its new home at Plymouth College of Art from 11 January 2019, the cinema will boast the best in independent British, American and World Cinema.

To kickstart the inaugural season of screenings in their new venue, the cinema team have arranged special screenings of Stan and Ollie, celebrating two of the big screen's comedy giants on the day of the film's UK release.

We’re delighted to welcome the French Film Festival UK for a selection of the finest new French cinema, from 2 – 6 February. Also on the schedule is a one-off screening of hit teen drag queen musical Everybody's Talking About Jamie, filmed live at London's Apollo Theatre.

Throughout Janaury and February, avid film fans can catch some top films for a bargain price. Look out for the special 'Discovery Screenings', with every seat priced at £2.50. Aimed at introducing audiences to new films, there will be 'Discovery Screenings' of film festival favourites Suspiria, The Old Man and the Gun, Shoplifters, and Green Book. 

Plymouth College of Art staff and students can treat themselves to a film for just £4, by showing their college ID card when purchasing their tickets at the Box Office, or by selecting the 'PCA staff/student' ticket option when booking online.

Here is the full list of films and events in store for the new year:

Stan and Ollie (Friday 11 – Thursday 24 January)
Disobedience (Saturday 12 – Thursday 17 January)
Wildlife (Saturday 12 – Saturday 19 January)
Shoplifters (Tuesday 15 – Friday 18 January)
The Marvellous Mabel Normand (Saturday 19 – Wednesday 23 January)
9 to 5 (Tuesday 22 – Thursday 24 January)
The Favourite (Friday 25 January – Thursday 7 February)
Suspiria (Friday 25 – Thursday 31 January)
ENGINEERING PLYMOUTH + TALK (Saturday 26 January)
Everybody’s Talking About Jamie (Tuesday 29 January)
Colette (Friday 1 – Thursday 7 February)

French Film Festival:
Woman Up! (Saturday 2 February)
Dany/Mon Ket (Tuesday 5 February)
Rock ‘n’ Roll (15) (Wednesday 6 February)

The Old Man and the Gun (Friday 8 – Thursday 14 February)
Beautiful Boy (Friday 8 – Thursday 14 February)
Polina (Friday 15 – Thursday 21 February)
Lizzie (Friday 15 – Thursday 21 February)
A Private War (Friday 22 – Thursday 28 February)
Green Book (Friday 22 – Thursday 28 February)

From Friday 14 December to Thursday 10 January, tickets can be booked online only. If you have issues with booking online, please call 01752 206114 or email info@plymouthartscentre.org. From Friday 11 January, you can book online through the Plymouth Arts Centre Cinema website, or contact the Box Office on 01752 206 114 (Tuesday - Friday: 5-30pm, Saturday: 1-8.30pm). Tickets will be available for collection at the new Box Office at our main Tavistock Place building.

undefined